A Fitness, Tennis, Squash & Sports Blog by Mayfair Clubs


Pilates Reformers by kerriechen
February 23, 2011, 6:07 pm
Filed under: Fitness, Mayfair

At first glance, the Pilates Reformer might not look like a welcoming piece of exercise equipment – a throw back from much earlier times.  A closer examination reveals that the Pilates Reformer is actually quite an elegant machine and something that has been well made for what it is designed to do.

So what does the Pilates Reformer do exactly? Perhaps the best thing to do is to explain some of the principals behind Pilates, so that you will better understand what the Reformer is trying to achieve.

The definition of Pilates is the balanced development of the deep and superficial muscles that stabilize, align, and move the trunk of the body, especially the abdominals and muscles of the back, which many fitness teachers might also refer to as core strength. Core strength looks beyond the superficial, and sometimes cosmetic, outer appearance, and looks at the power of the internal muscles.

This definition is further broken down into the following principals that govern Pilates – Centering, Concentration, Control, Precision, Breath, and Flow.

Centering refers to bringing the focus of the exercise to the centre of the body between the lower ribs and pubic bone. Energetically, Pilates exercises are sourced from this centre.

Concentration simply means bringing one’s full attention to the exercise and doing it with full commitment. As with any exercise, giving it your full attention will yield maximum benefit.

Every Pilates exercise must be done with complete muscular control. No body part is left to its own devices. This really goes hand in hand with the previous principal.

In Pilates, awareness is sustained throughout each movement. There is an appropriate placement and alignment relative to other body parts, and trajectory for each part of the body.  Precision of movement is important.

Joseph Pilates emphasized using a very full breath in his exercises. Most Pilates exercises (as is common in a lot of exercise regimes) coordinate with the breath, and using the breath properly is an important part of Pilates exercise.

Fluidity, grace, and ease are goals applied to all Pilates exercises. A smooth technique is important to the most beneficial use of Pilates.

Pilates equipment, like the reformer, are very good mirrors of one’s flow and concentration as they tend to bang around and suddenly become quite “machine-like” if one loses control and flow. The Reformer provides finely tuned exercise resistance that allows one to work very precisely with alignment, core strength, and all of the Pilates exercise principles.

Written by Colleen Hopkins, Director of Fitness Operations


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I started working on the pilates reformer simply out of curiosity with Kathleen at the Parkway and now I’m hooked. She so quickly zoomed in on my many weaknesses and began a plan of attack to correct them.

Unfortunately between sessions, there is homework, stretching and in particular breathing exercises. How could I have been breathing so poorly all these years! I am standing taller, feeling stronger and I think the better breathing is giving me more energy.

Oh she wants me on the treadmill etc and watching my diet. I really feel the reformer is a great addition to all the exercise options and classes the club offers. And since I’m now taking up tennis again, I’m now really excited about getting on the court again.

Comment by Karen Soupcoff

Yes my experience is similar. I have signed up for a series of sessions because I want to work on my core strength and as a side benefit have discovered that I don’t use my outer hip and leg muscles as I move. They are very weak. After a few sessions targetting those muscles on the machine my chronic right hip tighteness is disappearing. Now my swimming is improving. Also I am becoming aware of how often in the day I am holding my breath.

Comment by Roxanna Albert

I’ve always been told that my body is the most inflexible physical therapists have ever seen-like a robot.
Kathleen has an amazing ability to quickly assess the bad habits I’ve developed over the years in the way I carry my body. In only 8 sessions, I feel freer , more flexible, improved posture and more conscious of how I breathe and what I need to work on. She is very careful not to have me do something I’m not ready for.
Kathleen is very knowledgeable, insightful and committed.
I look forward to continue to work with her.

Comment by DR. Joel Walker




Leave a comment